This is the first year that there is at least one seed from 1 to 10 in the Sweet Sixteen.

Four schools have defeated both Kentucky and Kansas in the same tournament.  They were Texas Western (UTEP) in 1966, Western Kentucky in 1971, Arizona in 1997 and Maryland in 2002.  They all won the national championship those years except Western Kentucky.

The most wins over a AP#1 team is 3 by Cincinnati, Indiana and UCLA.

The most wins over a #1 seed is 8 by Duke.

Illinois has never defeated a #1 seed.