Three #1 seeds lose in the same round for only the second time in tournament history.  The other time was the 2003 Elite Eight when Marquette defeated Kentucky, Kansas defeated Arizona and Syracuse defeated Oklahoma.

There will be no #1 seeds in the Final Four for the first time since 1980 and only the second time since seedings began in 1979.  This is also the first time since 1980 that all four Elite Eight games were won by the lower seed.

Florida will be making their first Final Four appearance since 2000.  It is their 3rd apperance in the Final Four.  They are 1-1 in National Semifinal games.

George Mason becomes the first ever school to defeat unique National Champions from the previous two tournaments.

Connecticut is now 2-6 in the Elite Eight.

Connecticut is now 5-1 when playing in Washington, D.C.

George Mason's appearance in the Final Four is the first ever for the Colonial Athletic Association.

In the last 4 tournaments, 16 different schools have been in the Final Four.  The last time that has happened was 1978 to 1981.

It is also guaranteed that there will be 7 different National Champions in the last 7 years. 

The CAA is now 4-0 vs. the Big East.
Year Team Opponent Score Round
1986 Navy Syracuse 97 85 Second Round
1991 Richmond Syracuse 73 69 First Round
1995 Old Dominion Villanova 89 81 First Round
2006 George Mason Connecticut 86 84 Elite Eight

George Mason becomes only the second #11 team to advance to the Final Four.  Louisiana State in 1986 is the other.

George Mason will be making their first ever apperance in the Final Four.

George Mason becomes the first school to advance to the Final Four in the same tournament as their first win since Georgia in 1983.