Second Round Rematches
Florida defeated Purdue 85-66 in 1987 Second Round
Kentucky defeated Kansas 92-88 (OT) in 1999 Second Round
Louisville defeated Texas A&M 66-55 in 1980 Sweet Sixteen
Virgnia is 2-0 vs Tennessee (62-48 in 1981 Sweet Sixteen and 54-51 in 1982 Second Round)
Indiana is 2-1 vs UCLA (Indiana won 65-51 in 1976 National Semifinals and 106-79 in 1992 Elite Eight, UCLA won 70-59 in 1973 National Semifinals)
North Carolina is 3-0 vs Michigan State (74-70 in 1957 National Semifinals, 73-58 in 1998 Sweet Sixteen, 87-71 in 2005 National Semifinals)

There were 5 first round upsets.  That is the third fewest upsets in the first round since 1985.  Only 2000 (3) and 2004 (4) had fewer.

There were 23 double digit victories in the first round this year.  That breaks the record of 22 from 1993 and 1997.

The average margin of victory in the first round was 16.1 breaking the old record of 15.9 set in 1993.

Since 1985, this is only the third time that no #12 seeds have won a first round game.  The other years were 1988 and 2000.

Second Round Conference Breakdown
Atlantic Coast 5
Big Ten 5
Pacific Ten 4
Southeastern 4
Big East 3
Big Twelve 3
Atlantic Ten 1
Big South 1
Colonial 1
Conference USA 1
Horizon League 1
Missouri Valley 1
Mountain West 1
Western Athletic 1

Consecutive Second Round Appearances
Kentucky 16
Boston College 4
North Carolina 4
Florida 3
Georgetown 2
Indiana 2
Memphis 2
Ohio State 2
Pittsburgh 2
Tennessee 2
Texas 2
Texas A&M 2

String of at least 3 Consecutive Second Round Appearances snapped
Duke 10
Illinois 7
Connecticut 5
Gonzaga 4
North Carolina State 3

The 51 points that Holy Cross scored is the fewest that Southern Illinois has allowed in 14 tournament games.  The previous low was 56 vs St. Mary's, California in 2005 First Round.  It is also the fewest points that Holy Cross has scored in 19 tournament games.  Their previous low was 52 vs Ohio State in 1950 Regional Third Place and vs Kentucky in 1948 National Semifinals.

Holy Cross is now 0-6 in Round of 64.

Florida's 112 points is the mos they have scored in  36 tournament games.  Their previous high was 93 vs Illinois in 2000 Second Round.

Florida's 112-69 (43 points) victory is the largest margin of victory for Florida.  Their previous best was 30 when they defeated Sam Houston State 85-55 in 2003 First Round.

Kentucky's victory is their 100th tournament victory.

Kentucky is now 19-2 in Round of 64.

Purdue extends the record for the most tournament victories without ever defeating the same school twice with 28.

Purdue's victory is Matt Painter's first ever tournament victory.

Virginia Tech's victory is Seth Greenberg's first ever tournament victory.

Virginia Tech is now 4-0 on Fridays.

Virginia Tech's 54 points is the fewest they have scored in 13 tournament games.  Their previous low was 57 vs Temple in 1985 First Round.

Illinois is now 1-5 vs the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Illinois' loss ends a string of 7 consecutive second round appearances.

Kansas is now 23-2 in the Round of 64.

Kanasas is 3-0 when playing in the state of Illinois.

Kansas is 9-1 on March 16.

Kansas is 18-0 when scoring 90 or more points.

Niagara's 67 points ties for the fewest they have scored in 6 tournament games.  They also scored 67 against Oklahoma in 2005 First Round.

The 58 points scored by Oregon is tied for the fewest that Miami, Ohio has allowed in 25 tournament games.  This is the 4th straight tournament game that Miami, Ohio has allowed 58 points and their 5th overall.

Creighton is now 1-5 as the 10 seed.

Tennessee's 121 points is tied for the 6th highest scoring game for a team in NCAA Tournament history.

Tennessee's 121 points is the most points that they have scored in 25 tournament games.  Their previous high was 97 vs Eastern Kentucky in 1979 First Round.  It was also the most poins that Long Beach State has allowed in 16 tournament games.  The previous high allowed was 90 vs Brigham Young in 1972 First Round.

Tennessee's 121-86 victory over Long Beach State is the largest margin of victory for Tennessee (35 points).  Their previous best was 16 when they defeated Eastern Kentucky 97-81 in 1979 First Round.

Winthrop's 74 points are the most they have scored in 7 tournament games.  Their previous high was 67 vs Northwestern State in 2001 Opening Round.

Winthrop's win is their first in NCAA Tournament History.  It is also Gregg Marshall's first ever tournament victory.

This is the 5th time that Notre Dame has been the victim of an opponent's first ever tournament victory.  That ties the record held by Connecticut and Wyoming.

Lon Kruger becomes the 5th coach in NCAA Tournament History to take 4 schools to the NCAA Tournament.

Coach Team Years
Driesell, Lefty Davidson 1966,1968-69
Maryland 1973, 1975, 1980-81, 1983-86
James Madison 1994
Georgia State 2001
Harrick, Jim Pepperdine 1982-83, 1985-86
UCLA 1989-96
Rhode Island 1998-99
Georgia 2001-02
Kruger, Lon Kansas State 1987-90
Florida 1994-95
Illinois 1997-98, 2000
Nevada-Las Vegas 2007
Pitino, Rick Boston 1983
Providence 1987
Kentucky 1992-97
Louisville 2003-05, 2007
Sutton, Eddie Creighton 1974
Arkansas 1977-85
Kentucky 1986-88
Oklahoma State 1991-95, 1998-2005

With UNLV's win, Kruger joins Harrick and Sutton as the only coaches to win a tournament game with 4 different schools.

UNLV becomes the first automatic qualifier from the Mountain West Conference to win a tournament game.  The MWC automatic qualifier is now 1-6.

UNLV wins their first NCAA tournament game since 1991 when they defeated Seton Hall 77-65 in the Elite Eight.

Virginia is now 4-1 as a 4 seed.  They were also a 4 seed in 1995 when they advanced to the Elite Eight before losing to Arkansas.

Virginia is now 3-0 when playing in the state of Ohio.

Virginia's 84-57 victory over Albany is the largest margin of victory (27 points) for Virginia in 37 tournament games.  Their previous best was 24 when they defeated Nicholls State 96-72 in 1995 First Round.

Tim Floyd becomes the first coach to coach as a member of 5 different conferences today.
Year Team Conference
1991 New Orleans American South
1993 New Orleans Sun Belt
1995 Iowa State Big Eight
1996 Iowa State Big Eight
1997 Iowa State Big Twelve
2007 Southern California Pacific Ten