Florida is making its second consecutive championship appearance.  They are the first team to go to back to back championship games since Kentucky in 1998.  They are also the first defending champion to advance to the championship game since Kentucky in 1997.  They are 1-1 in championship games.

Florida is in its 3rd championship game since 2000.  No other school has been to more than one championship game this decade.

The AP #1 team has faced the AP #3 team 6 previous times in the championship game.  #3 has won 4 of 6 including the last 3. 
Year #1 Score #3 Score2
1955 San Francisco 77 La Salle 63
1963 Cincinnati 58 Loyola, Illinois 60
1964 UCLA 98 Duke 83
1966 Kentucky 65 Texas-El Paso 72
1979 Indiana State 64 Michigan State 75
1999 Duke 74 Connecticut 77

This is the 5th time that two #1 seeds are facing each other in the national championship.
Year Team Score Team Score
1982 North Carolina 63 Georgetown 62
1993 North Carolina 77 Michigan 71
1999 Connecticut 77 Duke 74
2005 North Carolina 75 Illinois 70

Ohio State is making its first championship game appearance since 1962.  They are 1-3 in championship games.

Since 1985, Ohio State is the 8th team ranked #1 in the AP poll to advance to the championship game.

Ohio State is 0-2 in championship games when ranked #1.

Ohio State's victory over Georgetown is their first in 3 tournament games.

Teams ranked #1 are 19-12 in the championship game.

Georgetown loses for the first time ever in a national semifinal game.  They are now 4-1.

Since 2000, Florida is tied for second in number of tournament wins with 18.  Only Duke has more with 20.  Georgetown has the best winning percentage at 8-2 (.800).  Here is where each school in this year's final four rank in wins and win percentage coming into today's games:
Team Record Win Rank Win Pct Rank
Florida 18-6 2nd 4th
UCLA 15-5 7th 4th
Georgetown 8-2 19th 1st
Ohio State 7-4 21st 20th

With their 15 wins, UCLA is the only school to win at least 15 games in 4 different decades.

Tournament Records of Final Four coaches entering today's games:
Coach Record
Billy Donovan 20-7
Ben Howland 13-5
Thad Matta 11-5
John Thompson III 6-3

Since 2000, only the following schools have made multiple final four appearances:
  • Florida and Michigan State with 3
  • Duke, Kansas, Maryland, North Carolina and UCLA with 2

UCLA has allowed an average of 50.25 points in their first four tournament games.  In the shot clock era (since 1986), that is the fewest points allowed by a final four team in its first four games.  The previous low was 52.5 allowed by Mississippi State in 1996.  Last year's UCLA team has the third lowest at 54.75.

UCLA has scored an average of 64 points in their first four tournament games.  In the shot clock era, that is the second fewest points scored by a final four team in its first four games.  The fewest points scores was also by Mississippi State in 1996 with 63.5.